Secretary,
Local Electoral Area Boundary Committees 2017,
Room 1. 67,
Custom House,
Dublin 1,
DO1 W6XO

Re: Leitrim

Dear Secretary,

The FG Constituency Commission met on January 30th 2017 in Sligo to discuss making a submission to the Boundary Commission. The committee decided to make a submission for county, Leitrim.

Leitrim

Leitrim Co Council currently consists of 3 electoral areas contained within 3 Municipal Authorities, Manorhamilton (6), Ballinamore (6) and Carrick-on-Shannon (6).

Following the 2016 census the position is;

Local Electoral Area	Number of Members	Population	+/-%
Ballinamore	6	9,862	-8%
Carrick-on-Shannon	6	11,361	+6%
Manorhamilton	6	10,821	+2%
Total	18	32,044	

Having regard to the requirement that the number of councillors representing a local electoral area should be no less than 5 and no more than 7 and the fact that all 3 areas are within +-10% then the present configuration meets the requirement however the committee felt that the division of 2013 worked against the party basically damaging our chances of retaining some of our seats.

The committee recommends that Manorhamilton LE should remain as before and is very close to the required number (+2%) and has a natural border divide at Lough Allen.

The current divide between Ballinamore and Carrick-on-Shannon at the northern end around the Leitrim DED divides the community of Drumshanbo and it is anticipated that a number of submissions will be presented to the commission seeking some changes here therefore our committee propose that the Ballinamore and Carrick-on-Shannon changes as follows;

Carrick-on-Shannon

This electoral area and Municipal Authority is based around the growing County town of Carrick-on-Shannon and therefore meets requirement No. 5 with the terms of reference. The proposal would be to expand this electoral area to 7 seats taking in the Drumshanbo DED and the adjoining 2 areas of Barnameenagh and Moher (all part of the Drumshanbo parish area) thus re-joining the community of Drumshanbo and aligning it with Carrick-on-Shannon (13KM apart) as opposed to Ballinamore (19KM) . The view of the members was that this was the natural connection (Carrick-on-Shannon/ Drumshanbo) rather than the previous alignment and therefore this meets with the requirement of No.6 'taking due account of local and community identities and linkages'.

It is further proposed to transfer the Rinn and Beihy DEDs into the Ballinamore ED from the southern area of the Carrick-on-Shannon ED, this will achieve population balance and re-joins the Gortlettragh parish (Keeldra and Catten) in one electoral area.

Ballinamore

Based on the above we propose that the Ballinamore area be reduced from 6 to 5 seats following the transfer of the 3 DEDs (Drumshanbo, Moher & Barnameenagh) into Carrick-on Shannon. The intake of Rinn and Beihy as previously stated means that the entire Gortlettragh parish is contained within the Ballinamore EA. We recommend that the MA be less than 6 and selected at 5 as the committee believes that the area is much better aligned but with the smaller population exceptional circumstances is considered. (Section 7 (iv) of the terms of reference)

Conclusion

Local Electoral Area	Number of Members	Population	variance
Ballinamore	5	8,165	-8%
Carrick-on-Shannon	7	13,058	+5%
Manorhamilton	6	10,821	+2%
		32,044	

We would be grateful if you would consider our submission.
Yours sincerely
Blair Feeney Secretary